On 20 March 2020, South Korean authorities announced that all travelers from Europe will be tested for the coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Travelers staying in South Korea for a longer term will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days, regardless of the result of their test. Short-term travelers will be required to report their health condition via daily phone calls to local authorities.

In Sri Lanka, the government imposed a curfew from 1800 local time on 20 March to 0600 local time on 23 March (1230 UTC on 20 March until 0030 UTC on 23 March). Individuals traveling to the country’s main Bandaranaike International Airport (VCBI/CMB), located in the Colombo suburb of Negombo, with confirmed flight tickets are exempt. Separately, on 19 March the election commission announced that parliamentary elections originally scheduled to be held on 25 April were being postponed due to COVID-19. Authorities have yet to determine a future date for the election. The commission did state that all nominations for the election would remain valid for the new election date.