As of 30 March 2020, the U.S. has recorded at least 143,055 cases of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) with more than 2,500 deaths. In an effort to slow the rapid spread of COVID-19, on 29 March U.S. President Donald Trump extended federal guidelines recommending residents stay at home and practice social distancing measures outdoors until 30 April. Additionally, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) issued a Domestic Travel Advisory and urged residents of the northeastern states of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York to avoid all nonessential domestic travel for 14 days beginning on 28 March. In New York, health officials have recorded more than 60,000 confirmed cases, with more than 1,000 fatalities.

A number of states and cities across the country continue to enact restrictive measures to combat COVID-19. Stay-at-home orders were issued on 27-29 March for the states of Kansas (from 0000 local time on 30 March through 19 April), North Carolina (from 1700 local time on 30 March through 29 April) and Rhode Island (from 0000 local time on 30 March through 13 April). In addition, Utah Gov. Gary Herbert issued a “Stay Safe, Stay Home” notice urging residents to remain in their homes as much as possible, along with a set of guidelines to combat COVID-19. Kansas Gov. Laura Kelly mandated that any resident returning from high-risk states — including Colorado, Louisiana, Illinois, New Jersey, California, Florida, New York and Washington — must self-quarantine for 14 days. Anyone arriving in Rhode Island for purposes other than work must self-quarantine for 14 days. In Texas, beginning on 30 March, state officials require all travelers from the states of California, Louisiana and Washington — along with the cities of Atlanta, Chicago, Detroit and Miami — to self-quarantine for 14 days; the measure was already in effect for the states of Connecticut, New Jersey and New York, in addition to the city of New Orleans