As of 24 March 2020, confirmed cases of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) continue to significantly increase across Europe. At present, there are four countries that have surpassed 10,000 confirmed cases: Italy (63,927), Spain (39,673), Germany (30,150) and France (20,149). Transportation services remain significantly disrupted and lockdowns continue across the continent as countries attempt to contain COVID-19.

On 23 March U.K. Prime Minister Boris Johnson issued a nationwide “stay-at-home” order to prevent the spread of COVID-19 in the country. The lockdown measure closes all nonessential businesses and limits movement within the country, with the exception of shopping for necessities, seeking medical attention and traveling to and from work. The lockdown is expected to last for three weeks. Additionally, the U.K. Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) announced that all U.K. travelers should return home from abroad as soon as possible. The FCO warned that commercial flights are becoming increasingly limited as airline restrictions and border closures continue to cause significant disruptions to travelers.

Officials in Cyprus announced a nationwide lockdown beginning on 24 March. The lockdown, which is expected to last through 13 April, bans all nonessential travel and closes all parks and beaches within the country. Additionally, Austria and Denmark announced extensions to their lockdown measures that are set to last until 13 April.

Greek flag carrier Aegean Airlines announced that it will be suspending all international flights due to the spread of COVID-19 and increasing travel restrictions. The suspension is expected to last from 26 March through 30 April. Officials stated that a small number of flights will continue to operate between Athens and Brussels, Belgium.