On 27 July 2020, the U.S. Embassy in Santiago issued a Health Alert regarding Chilean cities entering quarantine measures, which reads in part as follows:

“As of July 27, the Ministry of Health has confirmed 347,923 cases of COVID-19 in Chile. The government of Chile has implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19. The following new measures were announced by the Chilean government on July 27:

  • The introduction of quarantines for the following comunas (begins Wednesday, July 29 at 10:00 pm): La Serena (IV Region), Coquimbo (IV Region), Puerto Montt (X Region)

“For more information on the Chilean government’s “Paso a Paso” program, and what is permitted during each phase, please visit this website (Spanish only).”