Officials in the southeastern Victoria state — where Melbourne is located — implemented a mandatory COVID-19 test for all arriving passengers as of 28 June following a recent spike in cases. Prior to the order, COVID-19 testing had not been a heavily enforced procedure, with approximately 30% of returning travelers refusing to be tested. Under the new measures, all inbound passengers will be subject to a test upon arrival and must also undergo a 14-day quarantine. In addition, individuals in quarantine will be tested twice during a 14-day period. Individuals who refuse testing will be required to remain in quarantine for an additional 10 days.