Interim President Jeanine Ánez declared a national health emergency on 25 March and ordered the closure of the country’s land borders to combat the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in the country. The state of emergency went into effect at 0000 local time (0400 UTC) on 26 March, and will last until at least 15 April. As part of the emergency measures, travelers are unable to enter or leave the country, except in unspecified emergency cases. In addition, vehicles are not permitted to traverse the country’s borders, except for emergency vehicles and those transporting medical personnel. All individuals have been advised to shelter in place and avoid all travel, except for medical emergencies. Grocery stores are set to open from 0700-1200 local time on weekdays, and one person from each household will be permitted to leave in order to obtain basic necessities such as food and medication. All public and private transportation has been suspended nationwide. Authorities have stated that these restrictions will be enforced and may include arrest or levied fines against violators. The announcement follows a nationwide quarantine imposed during 21 March-3 April, which also suspended all international flights in and out of the country during the quarantine period. According to officials, the latest measures were introduced due to non-compliance with the 21 March order to self-isolate.