On 11 March 2023, the governor of the Antioquia department enacted a nighttime curfew for six municipalities located in the Bajo Cauca subregion to curb violence amid recent rioting and clashes with police officers. The curfew – slated to last until 0600 local time on 13 March – affects the following municipalities: Caucasia, Cáceres, El Bagre, Nechí, Tarazá and Zaragoza. Residents in the municipalities are prohibited from traveling outdoors during curfew hours. Protest actions and associated violent events have occurred in Bajo Cauca over the past few days in relation to military operations intended to stop illegal mining activity in the region