On 5 August 2020, Queensland state Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced that the Australia state will close its borders to inbound travelers from the Australian Capital Territory — which includes the national capital Canberra — and the state of New South Wales beginning at 0100 local time on 8 August (1500 UTC on 7 August) and continuing until further notice. Limited exemptions include individuals residing along the state border who regularly travel back and forth. Returning Queensland residents will be required to undergo a 14-day quarantine in a state government-designated hotel at their own expense. An ongoing ban on travelers from the state of Victoria is also in effect until further notice. Entry is permitted for travelers arriving in Queensland from the rest of Australia.