On 10 July 2020, Australian Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced that the number of citizens and permanent residents allowed back into the country each week will be cut by half — approximately 4,000 travelers — in response to a spike in COVID-19 cases in Victoria state. States will also begin to charge individuals arriving from an overseas destination for the expenses incurred during the mandatory 14-day quarantine period.