Peruvian authorities declared a state of emergency in the following locations: the departments of Puno, Cusco, and Lima in the province of Callao; the province of Andahuaylas in Apurímac department; the provinces of Tambopata and Tahuamanu in Madre de Dios region; and the province of Mariscal Nieto in Moquegua department. The state of emergency – declared in response to mass protests — began on 15 January and will last for 30 days. It allows military personnel to assist local police and officials in maintaining law and order. Peruvian authorities also issued a 10-day nightly curfew in the Puno region from 2000 to 0400 local time (0100-0900 UTC).