On 22 May 2024, Ecuador’s President Daniel Noboa declared a state of emergency in seven provinces plus a canton of another province amid a surge in homicides linked to armed groups involved in the drug trade. The affected provinces include El Oro, Guayas, Los Ríos, Manabí, Orellana, Santa Elena, Sucumbíos, as well as Azuay province’s Camilo Ponce Enríquez canton. The state of emergency, which will be in effect for 60 days, authorizes security personnel to enter residences and intercept correspondence without prior consent. Outdoor travel will not be restricted since a curfew was not established. The government will submit the decree to the Constitutional Court for ratification. Earlier this month, the court nullified a prior emergency declaration in five provinces, citing that the declaration was not sufficiently justified. Travelers in the affected provinces should adhere to the direction of local security officials.