On 12 January 2024, the U.K. Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) issued updated travel advice for Ecuador, which reads in part as follows: “FCDO advises against all but essential travel to Coastal Region provinces of: Esmeraldas, Manabí, Santa Elena, Guayas, El Oro, Los Ríos, Santo Domingo de los Tsáchilas. This does not apply to transit within Guayaquil Airport in Guayas province, including onward or return travel to the Galapagos Islands.

“FCDO advises against all but essential travel to areas within 20km of the Ecuador-Colombia border, except for these areas in Carchi province: El Ángel Ecological Reserve, Rumichaca border crossing, the town of Tulcán, the Pan-American Highway.”