On 18 September 2020, Australian authorities announced that the number of residents allowed to return home each week will increase to 6,000 from 4,000. The change will take place by mid-October. According to Prime Minister Scott Morrison, there are approximately 24,000 Australian residents stranded abroad. Authorities are considering ease restrictions for those returning from New Zealand, which accounts for approximately 15% of returning residents.

In related developments, the deputy premier of Queensland along with the health minister announced that the state of Queensland will reopen its border with the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) as of 0100 local time on 25 September (1500 UTC on 24 September). Domestic flights between the two locations will then be allowed to resume; however, individuals who have traveled to the states of Victoria or New South Wales within the last 14 days will be banned from entry.