On 30 August 2021, European Union governments agreed to remove the United States from the EU’s safe travel list. The new designation may require travelers from the U.S to face additional COVID-19 screening and quarantine measures. Several EU governments — including Germany and Belgium — have already designated the U.S. as a “red list country,” a classification that mandates quarantine for unvaccinated U.S. travelers. EU countries are allowed to determine their own restrictions for individual countries, resulting in some states being added to the red list of certain EU governments while other EU countries may choose to classify the red list country as safe for travel.