Prime Minister Scott Morrison announced that all non-citizens and non-residents will be denied entry to Australia beginning at 2100 local time (1000 UTC) on 20 March 2020 in an effort to contain the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19). Australian nationals may return, but will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days upon arrival. Limited exemptions to the ban will be made for health professionals.

On 18 March, officials from Qantas Airways and Jetstar Airways announced a suspension of all international flights due to reduced demand given the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. Qantas and Jetstar — both owned by the Qantas Group — are also reducing their respective workforces by approximately two-thirds, a total of around 30,000 individuals. The flight suspensions and the workforce stand-down are set to go into effect as of 31 March and continue through 31 May 2020.

In New Zealand, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced that all non-citizens and non-residents will be banned from entering the country as of 2359 local time (1059 UTC) due to the threat posed by the spread of COVID-19. Only New Zealand residents, their spouses and children will be allowed entry.