In Argentina, President Alberto Fernandez announced a mandatory nationwide quarantine from 20-31 March 2020, to be enforced by security forces, as part of an overall effort to contain the spread of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19). The measure  requires people to remain indoors except to go out shopping for basic goods such as groceries and medicine, or to seek medical attention or to provide essential services. Supermarkets, pharmacies, gas stations and hospitals will continue to operate.

In the Bahamas, Prime Minister Hubert Minnis announced a countrywide nightly curfew from 2100-0500 local time (0100-0900 UTC) from 20-31 March. All non-essential businesses will be closed and public transportation will cease to operate; however, medical facilities, hotels and airports will remain open. Grocery stores and farmers markets, pharmacies, and gas stations will remain open between 0600-1930 local time. Individuals who violate the restrictions can be fined up to 10,000 Bahamian dollars/U.S. dollars, sentenced to as much as 18 months in prison, or both if convicted.

In Brazil, officials announced that travelers from a number of Asian and European countries will be banned from entering the country for 30 days beginning on 23 March. Those banned include nationals of Australia, China, the European Union, Iceland, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Norway, South Korea, Switzerland and the U. K. The restriction does not apply to legal permanent residents of Brazil or cargo transportation from the aforementioned countries.

In Haiti, President Jovenel Moïse announced the country’s first two confirmed cases of COVID-19 and declared a state of emergency. All airports, ports and borders are closed to travelers; cargo is exempt from the closures. A nightly curfew will also be enforced from 2000-0500 local time (0000-0900 UTC) beginning on 20 March until further notice. All schools and universities have also been closed.

In Paraguay, authorities announced that all inbound and outbound international flights could cease operating beginning on 21 March, following recent decisions by Aerolineas Argentinas, Amaszonas Bolivia, Air Europa, Avianca, Flybondi and Paraná Air to suspend direct flights to Paraguay. The government has encouraged