On 1 March 2022, U.S. President Joe Biden announced a ban on all Russian aircraft from U.S. airspace. The ban — expected to be effective as of 0200 UTC on 3 March — applies to all Russian-owned, operated or registered aircraft. The Russian government is now anticipated to enact a reciprocal ban on U.S. aircraft. Biden’s announcement, which he made while delivering the annual State of the Union address to the U.S. Congress, follows similar prohibitions imposed on Russian aircraft by the U.K., EU and Canada as part of strict sanctions against Russia in response to the Russian invasion of Ukraine.