On 29 December 2020, the Philippine government extended an entry ban on foreign travelers from 19 additional locations due to new strains of coronavirus; previously only travelers from the U.K. were banned from entry. The ban, which will be in effect from 30 December until 15 January 2021, applies to travelers from the following areas: Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, the Netherlands, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Individuals who traveled to any of the aforementioned locations within the past 14 days and arrive in the Philippines before 30 December will be allowed entry but will undergo mandatory 14-day isolation in government accredited facility regardless of having a negative COVID-19 PCR test. <>
The previous day, authorities extended the general community quarantine (GCQ) for Metro Manila, Isabela city, Batangas province, Iloilo city, Tacloban city, Lanao del Sur province, Iligan city, Davao city and Davao del Norte province through 31 January. The remainder of the country remains under a modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).