As of 23 March 2020, confirmed cases of the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) continue to significantly increase across Europe. At present, there are four countries that have surpassed 10,000 confirmed cases: Italy (59,138), Spain (33,089), Germany (26,220) and France (16,720). Transportation services continue to experience significant disruptions and lockdowns continue across the continent as officials attempt to contain COVID-19.

On 23 March Greek Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis implemented a nationwide lockdown to prevent further spread of COVID-19. Exemptions to the lockdown include travel to and from work, buying essential goods and physical exercise. Residents are expected to carry an identification card while outside. Additionally, in Spain, Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez announced plans to extend the state of emergency for 15 days. The nationwide quarantine measures are expected to remain in place through at least 12 April.

In Italy — where the death toll due to the COVID-19 pandemic has increased to 5,476 — officials banned all movement within the country indefinitely. Under the order, people will be restricted to the municipality where they are currently located; only specified cases in which an individual has proven business or health reasons are exempt from the restrictions. All measures apply to private and public transportation.

On 21 March Georgian Prime Minister Giorgi Gakharia declared a state of emergency in the country. Officials stated that a curfew will not be imposed at this time, but intercity public transportation has been restricted. Additionally, officials placed the eastern cities of Bolnisi and Marneuli on lockdown.

Bosnia and Herzegovina announced a nationwide nightly curfew from 1800-0500 local time (1700-0400 UTC) from 22 March until further notice; a separate curfew remains in effect for those under 18 years or over 65 years of age until 31 March. In addition, the Republika Srpska implemented nighttime curfew from 2000-0500 local time for all residents and foreign nationals, and a 24-hour curfew for everyone over the age of 65; the measure will remain in effect from 21 March-30 March. Additionally, North Macedonia issued a nationwide curfew from 2100-0600 local time (1900-0400 UTC). Public transportation will be suspended during the curfew hours. Romania has also announced a nationwide lockdown until 15 April and implemented a nightly curfew from 2200- 0600 local time (2000-0400 UTC).