On 19 August 2021, the premier of New South Wales state extended a lockdown for most of the Greater Sydney area until 30 September. A curfew will be in effect from 2100-0500 local time (1100-1900 UTC) for 12 high-risk local government areas beginning at 0001 local time on 23 August. These areas include Bayside, Blacktown, Burwood, Campbelltown, Canterbury-Bankstown, Claremont Meadows, Colyton, Cumberland, Erskine Park, Fairfield, Georges River, Kemps Creek, Kingswood, Liverpool, Mount Vernon, North St Marys, Orchard Hills, Oxley Park, Parramatta, Penrith suburbs in Caddens, Strathfield, St Clair and St Marys. Outdoor exercise in these areas is also limited to one hour per day. Most nonessential businesses remain closed except for curbside delivery services.

Anyone traveling from Greater Sydney into regional New South Wales will require a permit beginning on 21 August. These travelers must also produce proof of a negative COVID-19 test that is no more than seven days old. Violators may be fined up to 5,000 Australian dollars (3,585 U.S. dollars). Face masks are required across New South Wales, including outdoors, with exceptions for individuals who are exercising.