On 15 March 2022, Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern announced new dates for the reopening of New Zealand’s borders to international travelers. Beginning on 12 April, fully vaccinated Australian residents will be allowed to travel to the country and remain exempt from quarantine requirements. As of 3 May, fully vaccinated travelers from visa-waiver countries will be allowed to enter New Zealand. Additionally, New Zealand visa holders residing in countries not included on the visa-waiver list will be allowed to enter New Zealand as of 1 May.