Vehicle Restrictions

Jul 16, 2020

On 14 July 2020, the U.S. Embassy in Guatemala City issued a Message for U.S. Citizens regarding vehicle restrictions and modified curfew hours, which read in part as follows:

“Restrictions on Vehicular Mobility: In the departments of Guatemala, Escuintla, Sacatepequez, Suchitepequez, Izabal, El Progreso, Zacapa, Santa Rosa and Quetzaltenango, all personal vehicles with license plates that end in an odd number (for example P001AAA) are permitted to circulate Monday, July 13; Wednesday, July 15, Friday, July 17; Tuesday, July 21; Thursday, July 23, and Saturday, July 25. All personal vehicles with license plates that end in an even number (for example P002AAA) are permitted to circulate on Tuesday, July 14; Thursday, July 16; Saturday, July 18; Monday, July 20; Wednesday, July 22; and Friday, July 24. Motorcycles, pedestrians, and other modes of non-vehicular transportation are exempt from these restrictions. All private vehicular mobility will be restricted on Sunday, July 19 and Sunday, July 26.

“Curfew Hours: Guatemala’s national mandatory curfew remains in place, running from 6:00 p.m. each evening through 5:00 a.m. the following day. In addition, an extended curfew will be in place on weekends, beginning Saturday, July 18 and Saturday, July 25 at 2 p.m., and extending through 5:00 a.m. the following Monday. This means that a full 24-hour curfew will be in place on Sunday, July 19 and Sunday, July 26. Every individual in Guatemala — including U.S. citizens — is required to remain inside their domicile during curfew hours (with exceptions for health and security, restaurant delivery services, certain media and legal personnel in pursuit of their duties, and patients receiving urgent treatment for chronic conditions).”

The full text of the Message can be read here.

For more information

+ 61 2 8019-7269
enquiry@steningsimpson.com.au