As of 28 September 2020, fighting between the Armenian and Azerbaijani military forces is ongoing in the disputed separatist region of Nagorno-Karabakh. The intense fighting broke out the previous day, prompting the Azerbaijani government to declare countrywide martial law as of 0000 local time on 28 September (2000 UTC on 27 September) and a nightly curfew during 2100-0600 local time in the capital Baku and the following districts: Ganja, Sumgayit, Yevlakh, Mingachevir, Naftalan, Absheron, Jabrayil, Fuzuli, Agjabadi, Beylagan, Agdam, Barda, Tartar, Goranboy, Goygol, Dashkasan, Gadabay, Tovuz, Shamkir, Gazakh and Agstafa. Commercial flights scheduled to operate through Baku’s Heydar Aliyev International Airport (UBBB/GYD) have been suspended until at least 30 September. Meanwhile, the Armenian government has declared a countrywide state of emergency; officials in Nagorno-Karabakh have also declared a state of emergency. At least one international airline has suspended flights to Armenia’s Zvartnots International Airport (UDYZ/EVN), which serves the capital Yerevan. Conflicting reports have emerged regarding casualties from the ongoing fighting in the disputed region; officials in Nagorno-Karabakh reported that at least 59 of their soldiers have been killed thus far. The Armenian Defense Ministry stated that as many as 200 people have been wounded, while Azerbaijan’s Defense Ministry stated that 26 Azerbaijani civilians have been wounded. The latest round of fighting initially started near the Tavush region in northeastern Armenia — located approximately 300 km (190 mi) north of the Nagorno-Karabakh region — in July. The disputed region has been under the control of ethnic Armenians supported by the Armenian government since the end of a war in 1994, although the area is internationally recognized as Azerbaijani territory.