On 2 September 2020, the U.S. Embassy in Canberra issued a Health Alert regarding the extension of border regions, which reads in part as follows:

“Starting September 4, New South Wales (NSW) will extend the border region between NSW and Victoria to 50 km. Border zone residents and workers will still need a border entry permit to enter NSW. Outside the border region, residents returning to NSW from Victoria  must enter NSW through the Sydney airport and will be required to go into hotel quarantine for 14 days at their own expense (the fee will be waived until September 11).

“Measures in Australia to limit the spread of COVID-19 vary by state and territory. Please check the individual state and territory websites for further information. State, territory, and local authorities may levy fines on and/or arrest individuals not following physical distancing or other orders.