On 27 March 2024, Peruvian President Dina Boluarte imposed a 60-day state of emergency in 70 districts across multiple departments due to heavy rainfall and widespread flooding. The emergency declaration applies to select districts in the departments of Amazonas, Ancash, Apurimac, Arequipa, Ayacucho, Cajamarca, Cusco, Huancavelica, Huanuco, Ica, Junin, Lima, Madre de Dios, Puno, Tacna and Ucayali. During the state of emergency, the National Civil Defense Institute will coordinate with municipal governments to provide medical and transportation services, as well as to dispatch logistics, transfer and storage services.